We are pleased to announce the launch of the NY State Literacy Zone Website


NYS Literacy Zones


The Literacy Zone is a reform initiative to close the achievement gap in urban and rural communities of concentrated poverty and high concentrations of families and individuals with limited literacy or English language proficiency. Literacy Zones provide a systemic approach to meeting the literacy needs of these communities characterized by significant poverty and deficits in literacy and English language proficiency. Geographically defined as one or more adjacent census tracts using the US Census Bureau data, New York State Education Department has identified 51 Literacy Zones across the State. Each Literacy Zone can provide pathways out of poverty for individuals and families, in the following areas:

 

  • A continuum of literacy from early childhood through adult, including strong support for parents’ involvement in their children’s literacy development at home and engagement with the school system
  • Assistance and support for out-of-school youth to enable them to complete high school and succeed in postsecondary education or advanced training
  • Postsecondary transition that enable out-of-school youth and adults to obtain a high school equivalency diploma and succeed in postsecondary education
  • Support services that enable out-of-school youth and adults who are receiving public assistance, or families with incomes of less than 200 percent of poverty, to obtain and retain employment
  • Transition programs for youth and adults returning to the community from incarceration
  • Pathways to citizenship and English language proficiency for limited English language adults
  • Workforce development programs, including apprenticeship, career and technical education, and career pathways
  • Support for mature workers and senior citizens to enable them to stay out of Poverty
  • Support for individuals with disabilities and their families
  • Transition support for returning veterans and their families, including disabled veterans
A continuum of literacy services from early childhood through adult, including strong support for Pathways out of poverty are tailored to meet the needs of individuals and families located within the Literacy Zone community.

Please contact or visit one of our sites to determine which services are available in your community.

 

 

NYSED

Robert Purga, Adult Career and Continuing Education Services

Email: Robert.Purga@nysed.gov

Phone: (518) 474-8940

Fax: (518) 486-1751

ACCES - NYSED Room 1622

One Commerce Plaza

99 Washington Avenue

Albany, NY 12234

Agency Name

Literacy Zone Name

Contact Information

Albany-Schoharie-Schenectady BOCES

Trinity Center

15 Trinity Place

Albany NY, 12202

Trinity

Kim Brizzell

kim.brizzell@neric.org

(518) 862-4791

Buffalo City School District (East-26)

Response to Love Center

130 Kosciuszko Street

Buffalo, NY 14212

Buffalo East

Amy Lawrence

amy.lawrence@literacybuffalo.org

Shannon Helm

shelm@buffaloschools.org

(716) 887-3912 ext. 224

Buffalo City School District (East-26)

Northwest Community Center

155 Lawn Avenue

Buffalo, NY 14207

Buffalo North

Amy Lawrence

amy.lawrence@literacybuffalo.org

Shannon Helm

shelm@buffaloschools.org

(716) 887-3912 ext. 224

Buffalo City School District (East-26)

Buffalo Public Schools Adult Learning Center

389 Virginia Street

Buffalo, NY 14201

Buffalo West

Amy Lawrence

amy.lawrence@literacybuffalo.org

Shannon Helm

shelm@buffaloschools.org

(716) 887-3912 ext. 224

Clinton/Essex/Warren/Washington BOCES

Champlain Valley Educational Services (CVES)

1585 Military Turnpike

Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Plattsburgh (Champlain Valley)

 

Cathy  Snow

snow_cathy@cves.org

(518) 561-0430 ext. 3079

Clinton/Essex/Warren/Washington BOCES

OneWorkSource

194 US Oval

Plattsburgh, NY 12901

Plattsburgh (OneWorkSource)

 

Cathy  Snow

snow_cathy@cves.org

(518) 561-0430 ext. 3079

CUNY - Borough of Manhattan Community College

Hamilton-Madison House

50 Madison Street

New York City, NY 10038

Bridges

Denise Deagan

djdeagan@yahoo.com

Alecia Rubino

arubino@bmcc.cuny.edu

(212) 346-8443

CUNY - Borough of Manhattan Community College

PS/MS 188

442 E. Houston Street

New York City, NY 10002

Lower East Side

Denise Deagan

djdeagan@yahoo.com

Alecia Rubino

arubino@bmcc.cuny.edu

(212) 346-8443

CUNY - Borough of Manhattan Community College

Educational Alliance

197 East Broadway

New York City, NY 10002

Chinatown

Denise Deagan

djdeagan@yahoo.com

Alecia Rubino

arubino@bmcc.cuny.edu

(212) 346-8443

CUNY - York College Learning Center

94-43 160th Street

Jamaica, NY 11451

York College

Maria Williams

mwilliams1@york.cuny.edu

Scott Williams

swilliams1@york.cuny.edu

(718) 262-3861

Eastern Suffolk BOCES

220 Roanoke Avenue

Riverhead, NY 11901

Riverhead

Barbara Egloff

begloff@esboces.org

(631) 419-1609

Audrey Gottlieb

agottlie@esboces.org

(631) 369-7571

Erie 2 - Chautauqua - Cattaraugus BOCES

31 Water Street

Box 5

Jamestown, NY 14701

Gateway

Gretchen Varney

gvarney@e2ccb.org

Judy Shaffer

jshaffer@e2ccb.org

(716) 484-6190

Federation of Employment Guidance Services, Inc

412-424 E. 147th Street

4th Floor

Bronx, NY 10455

South Bronx (FEGS)

Bruce Carmel

bcarmel@fegs.org

(212) 366-0032

Jennifer DeGuzman

jdeguzman@fegs.org

(718) 742-3529

Franklin-Essex-Hamilton BOCES

OneWorkSource

158 Finney Boulevard

Malone, NY 12953

Malone

Mr. Joe Campbell

jcampbel@mail.fehb.org

Crista Hermann

chermann@mail.fehb.org

(518) 481-5755 ext. 3008

Greater Southern Tier BOCES

650 Baldwin Street

Elmira, NY 14901

Elmira

Timothy Driscoll

tdriscoll@gstboces.org

Nicole Elston

nelston@gstboces.org

(607) 739-7684

Greece Central School District

170 Greece Ridge Center Drive

Rochester, NY 14609

Greece

Nicole Viggiano

nicole.viggiano@greece.k12.ny.us

(585) 966-2721

Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES

United Presbyterian Church

25 Church Street

Amsterdam, NY 12010

Amsterdam

Ms. Laurie Bargstedt

lbargstedt@hfmboces.org

(518)-736-4340

Angela Meola

ameola@hfmboces.org

(518) 212-6120

Hamilton-Fulton-Montgomery BOCES

43-47 North Main Street

Gloversville, NY 12078

Gloversville

Ms. Laurie Bargstedt

lbargstedt@hfmboces.org

(518)-736-4340

Brooke Green

bvangenderen@hfmboces.org

(518) 725-3308

Hanac, Inc.

23-16 30th Avenue

Astoria, NY 11102

Astoria

Maritza Pritsos
mpritsos@hanac.org

Christine Suero

csuero@hanac.org

(718) 728-7084

Herkimer BOCES

77 East North Street

Ilion, NY 13357

Herkimer

Ms. Mary K. Kline

mkline@herkimer-boces.org

(315) 867-2079

Highbridge Community Life Center

1438 Ogden Avenue

Bronx, NY, 10452

Highbridge

Echo Shumaker-Pruitt

shumakerpruitte@highbridgelife.org

Natali Sierra

sierran@highbridgelife.org

(646) 393-9533 ext. 117

Literacy West NY, Inc.

5455 State Route 19 North

Belmont, NY 14813

Belmont (Core Learning Center)

Lisa A. Lee

llee@lwny.org

(585) 786-3890 ext. 201

Rebecca Scott

bscott@lwny.org

(585) 268-5213 ext. 101

Literacy West NY, Inc.

29 North Main Street

Warsaw, NY 14569

Wyoming/Warsaw

Lisa A. Lee

llee@lwny.org

(585) 786-3890 ext. 201

Rae Frank

rfrank@lwny.org

(585) 786-3890 ext. 204

Long Beach City School District

500 Centre Street

Long Beach, NY 11561

Long Beach

Marcia Mule

mmule@lbeach.org

Lisa Wright

lwright@lbeach.org

(516) 897-2111

LVA Westchester County

50 West Broad Street

Haverstraw, NY 10927

Haverstraw

Patricia Rajala

patricia.rajala@gmail.com

(914) 375-7964

Madison-Oneida BOCES 

Utica ACCESS Site

508 Second Street

Utica, NY 13501

Utica East

Kathleen Rinaldo

krinaldo@bcce.moric.org

(315) 361-5805

Madison-Oneida BOCES  

409 Columbia Street

Utica, NY 13502

Utica West

Kathleen Rinaldo

krinaldo@bcce.moric.org

(315) 361-5805

Ed Klesse

eklesse@moboces.org

(315) 738-7310

NYC Department of Education 

3450 East Tremont Avenue

Bronx, NY 10465

Bronx

Anne Bernard

abernar@schools.nyc.gov

(718) 863-4067

NYC Department of Education 

475 Nostrand Avenue

Brooklyn, NY 11216

Brooklyn

Daisy Torres

dtorres12@schools.nyc.gov

Lydia Royes-Sullivan

lroyess@schools.nyc.gov

(718) 638-2635

NYC Department of Education 

212 West 120th Street

New York, NY 10027

Mid-Manhattan

Ryntha Henderson-Amare

rhendersonamare@schools.nyc.gov

(212) 666-1919

NYC Department of Education 

2735 Jackson Avenue

Long Island City, NY 11101

Queens

Yvonne Neal

yneal@schools.nyc.gov

(718) 361-9480

Orange-Ulster BOCES  

70 Fulton Avenue

Middletown, NY 10940

Middletown

June Franzel

june.franzel@ouboces.org

(845) 781-6715 ext. 10773

Orange-Ulster BOCES  

377 Broadway

Newburgh, NY 12250

Newburgh

June Franzel

june.franzel@ouboces.org

(845) 781-6715 ext. 10773

Orleans-Niagara BOCES  

140 Genesee Street

Lockport, NY 14094

Lockport

Susan Diemert

sdiemert@onboces.org

1-800-836-7510 Ext. 3003

Charles Diemert

cdiemert@onboces.org

(716) 433-2205

Orleans-Niagara BOCES  

1001 11th Street

Niagara Falls, NY 14301

Niagara Falls

Susan Diemert

sdiemert@onboces.org

1-800-836-7510 Ext. 3003

Irene Kalls

ikalls@onboces.org

(716) 278-8599

Queens Borough Public Library 

Central Adult Learning Center

91-14 Merrick Boulevard

Jamaica, NY 11432

Jamaica

S. Michele Echols

sechols@queenslibrary.org

(718) 480-4300

Queens Borough Public Library 

37-44 21st Street

2nd Floor

Long Island City, NY 11361

Long Island City

S. Michele Echols

sechols@queenslibrary.org

(718) 480-4300

Rochester City School District   

OACES

30 Hart Street

Rochester, NY 14605

Rochester (OACES Northeast)

Paul Burke

paul.burke@rcsdk12.org 

(585) 262-8072

Mark Rogacki

mark.rogacki@rcsdk12.org

(585) 324-9965

St. Lawrence-Lewis BOCES

NYS Department of Labor

35 Glenn Street

Massena, NY 13662

Massena

Lisa McKeel

lmckeel@sllboces.org

David Evans

devans@sllboces.org

(315) 353-6693

Syracuse City School District

Grant Middle School

2800 Grant Boulevard

Syracuse, NY 13210

Syracuse North

Kathy Lent 

klent@scsd.us 

(315)-435-4135 or 4114

Patricia Deacon

pdeacon@scsd.us

(315) 435-4111

Syracuse City School District

Dr. King Elementary School

416 E. Raynor Street

Syracuse, NY 13202

Syracuse South

Kathy Lent 

klent@scsd.us 

(315)-435-4135 or 4114

Patricia Deacon

pdeacon@scsd.us

(315) 435-4111

Syracuse City School District

Westside Learning Center

422 Gifford Street

Syracuse, NY 13204

Syracuse West

Kathy Lent 

klent@scsd.us 

(315)-435-4135 or 4114

Patricia Deacon

pdeacon@scsd.us

(315) 435-4111

Turning Point

Discipleship Outreach Ministries, Inc.

5220 Fourth Avenue                        423 39th Street

Brooklyn, NY 11220                        Brooklyn, NY 11232

Turning Point

Margaret Pemberton

mpemberton@turningpointbrooklyn.org

(718) 640-1586  or (718) 360-1582

Edgar Garcia

egarcia@turningpointbrooklyn.org

(718) 360-8113

Ulster County BOCES

15-21 Franklin Street

Kingston, NY 12401

Kingston (Midtown)

Coleen Macalus

cmacalus@ulsterboces.org

(845) 331-9681

Rose Quinn

rquinn@ulsterboces.org

(845) 331-5050 ext.2228

University Settlement Society of New York, Inc

175 Eldridge Street

New York, NY 10002

University Settlement Society

Maggi Ryan

mryan@universitysettlement.org

Michael Hunter

michael@universitysettlement.org

(212) 533-6306

Western Suffolk BOCES

Huntington Station

1450 New York Avenue

Long Island, NY 11746

Western Suffolk (Huntington Station)

Stephanie Engelmann

sengelma@wsboces.org

(631) 667-6000 ext. 303

YMCA Of Greater New York

New American's Initiative

180 W. 135th Street

New York, NY 10030

Harlem

Dio Garcia

dgica@ymcanyc.org

(212) 875-4336

Thalia Kwok

tkwok@ymcanyc.org

(212) 912-2163

YMCA Of Greater New York

New American's Initiative

Glebe Senior Center

2125 Glebe Avenue

Bronx, NY 10462

Bronx YMCA (New Americans)

Dio Garcia

dgica@ymcanyc.org

(212) 875-4336

Ruben Arce

rarce@ymcanyc.org

(917) 673-8688

Yonkers City School District

Cedar Place School

20 Cedar Place

Yonkers, NY 10705

Yonkers Cedar

Susan Naber  

snaber1@yonkerspublicschools.org

(914) 376-8600

Nancy Re

apoggiogalle@yonkerspublicschools.org

(914) 376-8460

Yonkers City School District

Enrico Fermi School

27 Poplar Street

Yonkers, NY 10701

Yonkers Enrico Fermi

Susan Naber  

snaber1@yonkerspublicschools.org

(914) 376-8600

Nancy Re

apoggiogalle@yonkerspublicschools.org

(914) 376-8460

Yonkers City School District

Vive School

75 Riverdale Avenue

Yonkers, NY 10701

Yonkers Vive

Susan Naber  

snaber1@yonkerspublicschools.org

Gladys Eisinger

geisenger@yonkerspublicschools.org

(914) 376-8600

 

 

NEWS and RESOURCES

 

Literacy Zone Performance Outcome Targets FY2017-2018

 

 

Please follow this link for immigration news of particular interest to case managers: http://www.nydailynews.com/new-york/illegal-status-waived-close-relatives-citizens-article-1.2739187


__________________________________________________________________________________________

 

 

For Immediate Release: 7/14/2016

GOVERNOR ANDREW M. CUOMO

 

GOVERNOR CUOMO LAUNCHES "NATURALIZE NY" – FIRST PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP OF ITS KIND TO PROMOTE U.S. CITIZENSHIP

In Partnership with the New York Daily News, Robin Hood Foundation, SUNY Albany, Stanford University, and George Mason University,

"NaturalizeNY" Waives Naturalization Fee for 2,000 Eligible Low-Income Working Immigrants

$1.25 Million Investment Will Offset Financial Costs and Help Reduce the Barriers for Immigrants to Become U.S. Citizens

 

Governor Announces Website for Individuals to Determine Citizenship Eligibility and Apply for Fee Waiver - NaturalizeNY.org

_______________________________________________________________

 

Literacy Zone Summit 2014 Announcement

Literacy Zone Summit 2014 Agenda Outline

Literacy Zone Summit 2014 Hilton Garden Inn

 

Literacy Zone Coordinators Meeting Agenda (November 12, 2013)

 

Literacy Zone Summit 2012

Literacy Zone Coordinators Meeting Agenda (December 14, 2011)

 

Literacy Zone Summit 2010
Summit Presentations
Agenda
Full Agenda

2009 Literacy Zone Summit